Tags

, , , ,

Recently I was having this huge mental block, you wouldn’t believe how big it was or how insane it was making me… until I decided to relax and give in to something which had been rounding my mind for quite some time, a book I love and never get tired of reading, a trilogy to be exact.

What I’m about to tell you has been working for me to some level, and I wanted to share it with you but take into consideration that it may not work for all; after all, we think differently, we all have a mind of our own and only you know how your mind works best, never doubt that. You know yourself better than what anyone else might tell you, this would be just one friendly advice of the many options I’m sure are out there and I have no knowledge of.

With that said…

I was trying to write for days with no success, it was starting to frustrate me… of course, I was reading some books, a bit of one, some lines of the other but I couldn’t concentrate on anything and that really wasn’t good. So what did I do? I started reading one of my favourite books of all time, (I don’t find the necessity of telling which one that is since you might like to read something else), once I set my mind on the story, clearly I couldn’t stop… it intoxicates me, it’s like it reaches inside me to the deepest parts of my soul and gets stuck there, feeding me, I forget about anything else. These stories, these books, have the capacity of shaking some hidden fragment of my soul and setting it free.

I don’t know why or how but it happens… and then, it all started coming to me… the words, the facts, the scenarios, bit by bit that darned mental block was starting to become less and less powerful, allowing me to write in peace.

Like I said before, it is not for everyone and it may not work for some. But you should try it next time the creative part of you is blocked, locked behind a high wall reaching the sky.

I suppose what I just told you has to do with some other part of ourselves, perhaps I just needed to let go and relax but this worked and helped, it inspired me some more and I like the way it makes me feel. You know when a book is good because you feel connected to it, you know others fail in comparison and not one will take you someplace else, far away where fantasy, magic, and mythical creatures are all around. I always said it, books give you dreams and hope, not to mention new, exciting characters along with worlds to explore. Nothing would compare, ever, on this whole universe to those sensations you get when you are reading a book that is equally good, mysterious and fascinating.

This one was truly from the heart, lads and lasses, and I hope you enjoyed it.

Don’t forget to stop by and read some of my short stories the links are on the left-side menu at the beginning of this. Also, you can reach me on Twitter and Tumblr: @SelaOrdaz and @EachPage as well as: EachPage or LibrosHoy.

I hope you return.

Cheers!

creative

